Our Friends Place Honors Christine Cook for Her Outstanding Charitable Work on Behalf of Women

May 5, 2014 - Our Friends Place is pleased to announce Christine Cook, President of Sleep Experts, was honored with the 2014 Ebby Award at THE EVENT, Our Friends Place annual fundraising gala, on Saturday, April 12, 2014. Named after Ebby Halliday Acers, the award’s first recipient in 2005, the Ebby Award recognizes individuals who contribute significant achievements for the advancement of girls and/or women in North Texas.

The 2014 Ebby Award honoree Christine Cook is wife, mom and President of Sleep Experts. Cook envisioned a company culture of heartfelt commitment to giving back to the community and by founding the company’s Share the Gift of Sleep mattress donation program, she achieved just that. To date, Sleep Experts has donated more than 12,000 beds totaling $1,000,000, resulting in more than a million nights of sleep for thousands of local families. Most bed recipients are women and children who have been victims of domestic violence, child abuse, neglect, extreme poverty or homelessness. Cook also hosts public awareness campaigns and annual events, such as the Share the Warmth Blanket Drive, in her program.

“We are honored to give the 2014 Ebby Award to Christine Cook,” says Lisa Thompson, Our Friends Place Board President. “The homeless youth population in North Texas is one often overlooked and Christine Cook’s commitment to helping women and children in crisis is inspirational.”

In addition to the 2014 Ebby Award presentation, THE EVENT featured casino games, gourmet dining, drink stations, dancing, a silent auction and most notably a live auction. THE EVENT sponsors include BDO, Peter and Suzan Fenner, Montgomery Coscia Greilich, LLP, Pearson Partners International, Andrews & Barth, PC, Ebby Halliday Realtors, Angel Benschneider and Mary Boone, as well as Susybelle Gosslee. THE EVENT underwriters include Frost Bank, Paul and Leigh Richter, Bill Keating Construction, Charles M. and Joan Martin, Sue and Jack Hesseltine, BC Flooring Company as well as Jim and Sharon Pope.

Past recipients of the Ebby Award include Ebby Halliday Acers, Sister Margaret Ann Moser, President of Ursuline Academy, Elizabeth Solender, President of Solender/Hall and Past President of CREW (Commerical Real Estate Women); Sarah Losigner, philanthropist; Suzanne Bryan, longtime children’s advocate; Lyn Berman, Founder and Executive Director of Attitudes & Attires; Dr. Martha Felini, professor and Sergeant Louis Felini, Sergeant in the Dallas Police Department, as well as Sharan Goldstein, philanthropist.

Our Friends Place has served girls and young women in the Dallas community since 1987. Our Friends Place helps young women break the generational cycles of abuse, neglect, poverty and homelessness. By providing a supportive home with our Transitional Living Center (TLC) program and teaching them the skills they need to become self-reliant, successful adults, young women receive an opportunity to build positive futures. In 2011, Our Friends Place’s TLC program, operated at the Beazley House TLC, received the Excellence in Social Innovation Award from the Center of Nonprofit Management for programs under a one million dollar budget. For more information visit www.OurFriendsPlace.org.